On November 8, California Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger and State Attorney General Jerry Brown announced plans to sue the Environmental Protection Agency for its failure to allow the State to begin implementing a new program to fight global warming. Under the program, legislation would have required automakers to reduce tailpipe emissions.

EarthJustice attorney Paul Cort said,” We applaud California on its continued leadership in tackling the issue of global warming. The state legislature, the Governor and the Attorney General recognize global warming is a problem that will not simply disappear without major changes in the way our cars, power plants and other pollution sources operate.”

“The states tougher emissions standards for cars and trucks will lead the way for the rest of the country,” continued Mr. Cort. “Automakers can no longer drag their feet when it comes to fighting global warming. Cars and trucks are major greenhouse gas emitters and requiring manufacturers to build cleaner cars is good for California, good for the country, and good for the planet. Our state has always been a leader in environmental protection and it’s time the Bush administration recognizes that lip services and voluntary iniatives on global warming are not going to get us out of this mess. We need strong leadership and a plan for national greenhouse gas emission reductions for cars and trucks. California is taking the first step.”

“California has a long and proud history of leadership in reducing pollution and fighting for clean air for our residents. And we are upholding that tradition today by filing a lawsuit against the federal government that takes a big step towards the battle against global warming,” said Governor Schwarzenegger. “California is ready to implement the nation’s cleanest standards for vehicle emissions but we cannot do that until the federal government grants a waiver allowing us to enforce those standards. Our air quality, our health and our environment are too important to delay any longer, and it is not just the people of California who are waiting. Those states that want to follow our lead cannot do so until federal permission is granted. In fact, fourteen other states are expected to join out lawsuit today.”

The fourteen other states expected to join California include Massachusetts, New York, Arizona, Connecticut, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, New Jersey, New Mexico, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont, Washington and Pennsylvania.




  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s



%d bloggers like this: